I’m sorry, I know I haven’t written in a long time. But with our own little elves in the picture now, I imagine you’ll be hearing more from us in the next few years. Miss Bea isn’t quite up for writing letters yet, but she will be soon enough. I expect that this year, at the ripe old age of two, she’ll start to have an inkling of who you are and where you fit into the hustle and bustle that always comes this time of year.

But before that happens, I was hoping we could have a little chat. I remember how we could always tell, growing up, which presents under the tree were yours by the distinctive Santa paper. I don’t know how you managed to find it every year, I’m guessing you had a whole bunch of it stashed away early-on.

You know, Santa, better than most I imagine, what has been happening on our planet lately. I hear it’s getting a good bit warmer (and wetter) in your neck of the woods. And, while I imagine you have a few things on your mind as you fly around on Christmas Eve, it must be pretty hard to miss the shrinking woodlands in some parts, and the growing landfills in others.

Lots of people are trying to do their bit to help with these problems, and while I was pondering the question of Santa paper (you know, wondering what pattern you’re going to pick for our family), I had an idea: cloth gift-bags.

I have it all figured out, and since I’ve been doing this for a few years now, I can even help you out a bit. I’m going to see if I can find some really great Santa-y fabric, and buy a great big bunch of it so that when new bags are needed from time to time, you’ve got more handy. I can even start you off with a few bags, although I’ll try to make them look different from the ones we use already. Eventually, Miss Bea & Baby Em will figure out that we’re in cahoots, but for now I’d rather keep this our little secret.

So the deal is, you can use these bags for your presents, and when we’re done, we’ll leave them next to the fireplace (maybe hanging from one of the stocking hooks). Then you can pick them up on your way home, all ready for next year. I figure your post-Christmas vacation in the Bahamas probably winds up around the 6th? That’s also when we take down the tree so that works perfectly.

So what do you think, big guy? You in?

Best regards to Mrs. C. and all your little helpers,

P.S. If you’re stuck for ideas for me this year, I hear Le Nordik does gift certificates.

P.P.S. To anyone else who might be reading this – what are some of the special things that Santa does for your family? Do you leave out cookies? Does Santa have another way in if you don’t have a chimney? What are you doing to ‘go green’ this Christmas?