Self-promote. Just don’t look like you’re self-promoting.
I don’t know – blog casual.

Something I’ve worried about from day 1 of blogging is the etiquette. Of course, I’m blogging because I would like people to read what I write. If nobody knows it’s there, then nobody will read it, and one of the key bits of advice you get everywhere is to go and comment on other blogs.

So that’s great. But I also figured, and Dani’s post helped reinforce, that shameless self-promotion is not cool.

So self-promote. Just don’t look like you’re self-promoting. I don’t know – blog casual.

This has always been in the back of my mind, but I’ve been giving it some particular thought since reading Dani’s post. And I’ve come to a conclusion.

If I’m commenting, or linking to my blog, or even writing a blog post that riffs off somone else’s post, then if I’m doing it out of a genuine interest in participating in the conversation, then it’s not spam.Ā  And I’m not going to let worrying if others view it as spam stop me from participating.

But I’m not going to stop worrying. That’s just what I do.