This week one of Mama Kat‘s writing prompts was to write a letter to your future teen. So here goes.

Dear Daughter,

These years, as I (vividly) recall, tend to be the rocky ones. But I am here to promise you a few things:

I promise to keep in mind that, while I will always be able to remember you as you are today, blissfully (and finally) sleeping in your bouncy-chair, that you will ony ever know yourself as a young woman who is perfectly capable of looking after herself, thank-you very much. I will try to remember what it was to be a daughter, and also to remember that you won’t know what it is to be a mother unless you decide to become one yourself.

I promise, if you call at 3 o’clock in the morning, that I will rescue you, no questions asked.

I promise to let you be the judge of which friends are good for you, and which ones may not be, even if finding this out on your own might leave some scars.

I promise not to make any of the mistakes my parents made.  This will be easy, really: I’ll  be quite busy enough making my own.

And while my love for you is unconditional, I’d like it if you could promise me a few things too:

Please promise me that you will, at least once, call me to rescue you at 3 o’clock in the morning, so that I know that you know that you can.

Promise me you’ll hold your sister close. Sisters are the best gift anyone can have, and I can’t tell you how wonderful it is for me to know that you have each other.

And finally, it would be nice if we could stay friends, but at least promise me that we will one day be friends again.