>

I’m not a big fan of popularity contests. Maybe that’s because, well, I’ve never been all that good at them. But the whole concept of awards being handed out based on how many votes you can cajole out of your network just rubs me the wrong way. Seems to me that all it proves is who has a combination of the most tweeps and the least shame.

But this is a common online phenomenon. This is what I told myself when I posted a vote plea for a recipe I posted to Losing It In Ottawa – it made me cringe but I figured “this is how it works, I’ll get used to it”.

Except it still makes me cringe.

I know that these things aren’t really about winning, they’re about driving traffic to the site that is hosting them. And there’s nothing wrong with that, I just like to call a spade a spade.

So now I’m on a mission: subvert the system and start voting for things I think should win. Sorry tweeps :).

So with that, here’s my vote plea:

Sara, a professional photographer, is currently hosting a contest on her Facebook page, where people can post pics that represent ‘Love’, and the photo with the most ‘likes’ wins a photo session. I did not enter, but I did go thumbing through the photos and found one that I absolutely love, by a complete stranger.

There are some really great pics in there, but if you want to vote, you’ll need to do it today. It’s worth checking out either way, guaranteed at least one of them will make you smile.