Theme for Six Word Friday: Novel.
Yes I know today is Sunday.
(and barely that, truth be told)

Me and My Girls: A Novel

Novel: me. Fallling, truly madly deeply,
For a painting. In a gallery.
Just out on a sanity-ramble,
To somewhere warm, with underground parking.

So much depth in two dimensions,
For one who doesn’t “get art”.

Or even poetry, for that matter.

Novel: you. Growing, changing, every day.
A new word, I don’t quite
catch, so you patiently repeat it.
Dam. Dam? No, dam. Jam? Yesh!

Watching your sister, holding her close.
Wanting to help. Ready to laugh.

Novel: you. At first an object,
Then a subject, now a verb.
First smiling, now rolling, soon crawling.
Jumping, harnessed, but just barely contained.

Watching your sister, holding her close.
Wanting to learn. Ready to laugh.

You both, moving me. To poetry.

How have we changed, grown, together?
I could write you a novel.