Because I know what everyone is looking for today is more election talk, I thought I’d throw in my 2 cents.

I’m not going to talk about how I feel about the results. Anyone who follows me on Twitter knows who I didn’t vote for, even if I didn’t share who I actually did vote for. And either way, this is how our system works.

But what I would like to highlight is a way in which (I think) it doesn’t work – regardless of who wins any given election. Take a look at this chart:

The raw data comes from Elections Canada. What it shows is that, for example, for each Conservative MP, roughly 35K people voted Conservative. Sixteen times as may voters stand behind the one Green MP. It took twice as many Liberal votes to get a single seat as NDP votes.

Now, as many will point out, you don’t vote for a party – you vote for a candidate: a local representative that you send to Ottawa on your behalf. But in the (near-) absence of free votes in the house, it’s pretty safe to say that you are effectively electing a party, not a person.

I didn’t vote Green, and actively dislike the Bloc, but even I am offended by the under-representation of their supporters in the House of Commons.

This is a simplification, but I think it’s safe to say: the system is broken. Very very broken. And I’m not sure what it’s going to take to fix it.

Addendum: Thanks Maureen for sending me this link to Fair Vote Canada, with a slightly different take: Actual seats won: CON 167, NDP 102, LIB 34, BQ 4, GREEN 1

If the seats were won in proportion to the votes that were cast: CON 122, NDP 95, LIB 59, BQ 19, GREEN 13